Just popping in
From Kleinburg
Group:
Registered Users - Ultimate
Level : 1; EXP : 60
HP : 0 / 15
MP : 2 / 170
Hey everyone,

I'm curious has anyone ever used a traffic light trigger on their vmax? Does it work or is it just a gimmick?

Even though the Max ain't no small bike. I constantly find myself sitting at traffic lights that never change. Around here, you gotta have a big enough vehicle to set off the magnetic field which tells the traffic light that someone is sitting there.

They sell what's Called "traffic light trigger" which is essentially a really powerful magnet that you mount on the bottom of your bike. The theory is that when you roll over you will set off that magnetic field and trigger the traffic light to cycle.

Has anyone tried these? Is it just a gimmick? For $7 online its not the cost but i just don't wanna waste my time if it doesn't work.

Finally, I'm not that technically Saavy. Are there concerns with mounting a strong magnet on the bottom of your bike? I know you wouldn't want to pass a magnet near the ABS sensor but are there other concerns that anyone can think of?

As always, I'm looking forward to hearing what you guys think

Posted on: 2015/2/2 2:34

Re: Traffic light triggers
Just popping in
From El Dorado CA
Group:
Level : 1; EXP : 73
HP : 0 / 18
MP : 2 / 348
My personal belief is that they are mostly just a gimmick. As I understand it, most light triggers are wire loops embedded in the pavement, which sense vehicle mass, not magnetic fields. Therefore magnets wouldn't help. I have heard, but have not confirmed, that putting your kickstand down on one of the wires will trigger it.

Posted on: 2015/2/2 6:03

Just popping in
From Kleinburg
Group:
Level : 1; EXP : 60
HP : 0 / 15
MP : 2 / 170
It's times like these that I wish I paid more attention in physics class!